An introspection through the books I read

2015 is flying by and although a sense of nostalgia and melancholy envelops me in these last days,I am sure that I am about to end a beautiful,inspiring,life changing and important chapter of my own book.I learned a lot,loved a lot,lived fully and loved every second.It surely and completely holds a big part in my heart and soul,because it was,also,the year when I decided I wanted to do more things for myself.I had a strong desire to know me better,to discover my true identity and to find answers to my own complicated and missunderstood questions.So,I read.A lot.From iconic and classics like “Wuthering Heights”to a bunch of psychological and self-development books,which truly made me evolve,spiritually,mentally and emotionally,in a way I couldn’t imagined.

I am grateful for all the memories and I proudly admit that these incredibly poweful books I get to discover piece by piece have expanded my horizons of thinking,feeling and seeing the world I am living in.I realized that nothing,absolutely nothing is impossible if you believe and fight with your whole being for it.The road could be difficult,challenging,unsure,unpredictable,but worth every sacrifice and endeavour.Hope you’ll see this one day.

So,focusing on the books I had the absolute pleasure to read throughout this eventful and bittersweet year,let me tell you some of them which are totally worth reading at least once.Buckle up,they’re not few.Just open your mind and heart.

     “Maitreyi” by Mircea Eliade –Actually,is the first book I’ve started 2015 with.The reason? HighSchool.

Okay,I know what you’re all thinking right now,highschool books are boring,useless and clearly annoying.We do not have much time to read them entirely and the pressure which exists due to a test paper or class listening often gets a hold on us.The perception that have been created nowadays which says that these kind of books are worthless and are given to us mostly to make our lives more miserable is strongly met at everyone my age.I understand it,I sometimes identify with it,but the fact is that it is not always the case.

I discovered in “Maytreyi” a captivating,fascinating,intense and real love story,between two simple people,but whose emerging relationship was always blocked and impended by prejudices,judgements and culture,social and age differences.It all seemed pointless,like their love will never be able to blossom or even be possible.Who would have thought that an English and typical engineer like Alan could have one of the most beautiful women from India like Maytreyi? They didn’t match,had total opposites backgrounds and the world just didn’t was on their side.

The thing that I truly loved was the irony of fate.Their love was born from hate,disgust and repugnance.Crazy to see that the person you believe you’ll never want to have in your life could become an essential part of you and to observe how their resistance towards each other pulled them closer and eventually turned into a consuming,inevitable and everlasting love.

Although the ending was neither clichΓ©s nor happy,I knew that their bound could never be broken by anything.Not even by death.

     “Wuthering Heigths” by Emily Bronte -certainly,one of the best and most intriguing books I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading.I had heard so many controversial things about it,so many conceptions,theories,thoughts that I knew I had to try it myself and see what my own vision tells me.

Being an iconic book,I highly doubt you didn’t read it by now.For those who don’t though,let me tell you is about an unfinished yet consuming,poweful,dramatic and intense love between two unfortunate lovers, Heatcliff and Catherine Earnshaw.We get to live and envision this one of a kind story from the eyes of Mr. Lockwood,the novel’s narrator.He is also,a witness of the events of the book,because he began his storytelling by moving to Thruscross Grange,a quiet and peaceful place where he met the main characters of his creation.

Both with a wild soul,Catherine,born and raised like a real lady,loses all her senses when she meets Heatcliff.Same as Romeo and Juliet,the two of them end up dying from love,leaving behind a lot of questions and contradictory feelings for the fascinated readers.

The relationship between Heatcliff and Catherine breaks all the barriers of love and mentalities imposed by those times.The exceptional novel easily stands out from the other masterpieces through the weight of suffering and misery that the two partners endure,but especially because their emotions and inner feelings were exposed through fierceness,cruelty,violency and pain.

Their love turned out to be destructive,but totally worth discovering and feeling it with passion.

PS:It’s worth watching the ecranisation of this masterpiece from 1939.It really put me into perspective and I loved it,but not as much as the book itself.

       “The call of the wild” by Jack London -I don’t know if I had a deeper connection with any other book than I had with this one.I read it at least twice  and I loved it more and more everytime.

Firstly,I was stunned by its authenticity,realism and naturalism.As the title subtly suggests,the story is centered on one of the most beautiful forms of love that exists:the one between a dog,Buck and a human,his savior,Jack Thornton.Being an animal lover,I think it’s one of the reasons this book got to me so easily.

From the moment Buck is kidnapped from his lord’s home,he knew his life will never be the same.Living life like a spoiled and well treated dog will no longer exists.

The series of adventures,tragedies and events of Buck’s life after that unfortunate incident made me fell hopelessly in love with this book.Even when he met his savior,Jack who established such a strong and unbreakable bound between the two of them,Buck felt that he couldn’t ignore anymore the wilderness’s calling,finally leaving the civilisation behind.

     “A new life in ten days” by Paul McKenna – An eye-opening book,the first one of self-development and psychological as well that I read this year.I wasn’t dissapointed.It’s so good.

It puts a lot of emphasis on the inner you,on your inner feelings,thoughts and struggles.
It’s a book you won’t regret reading.I can tell you won’t be able to put it down from your hands.

I learned so many precious lessons,I responded to my endless series of questions and I figured out what life is truly about.

One of them,with a significant importance, certainly is how could you be succesful and obtain that sense of fullfiment in your life? Well,in order to become one,you have to believe it with all your being.You have to know you are worth it and you really matter.Also,it is absolutely necessary an inner balance between your body,mind and soul.Success doesn’t exist without feeling truly happy,content and peaceful with yourself.

One of the best lessons I’ve learned so far is that the true wealth of life is the one that comes from the inside,accumulated through pleasant,lovely and priceless experiences with your beloved ones.If you allow your mind,body and soul to feel and be aware of all of them,you’ll made it because you have discovered the total,pure and sincere happiness.Don’t lose it.

You decide how you want to spend your life. 

Besides these wonderful books,I would highly recommend you a few others,including:

  • “10 interesting things about human behaviour” – Suzanne Davis
  • “Always know what to say” – Peter Murphy
  • “Change as opportunity” – Ralph Bruksos
  • “Dress for success” – Jenny Coo-Wu
  • “Karma de fiecare zi” – Carmen Harra. Such a revolutionary book.You will perceive life through another eyes after reading this.Trust me.
Leave a Reply

